VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    Measuring Airway Pressure
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Measuring Airway Pressure
 Login/Join

posted
Hi All,

I am a student working on a project dealing with Mechanical ventilators. I am trying to design a system that can measure Airway Pressure during Mechanical ventilation, using a stand-alone airway pressure sensor. I realize that the Airway Pressure is the difference between pressure in the breathing circuit and the ambient air. However, if I do a gauge measurement (i.e., measuring circuit pressure with reference to ambient pressure), the ambient pressure is changing all the time, thereby causing a continuous drift in my airway pressure measurement. How do I overcome this scenario? Can I use an absolute measurement instead (i.e., measuring circuit pressure with reference to vacuum)?

Posts: 1 | Registered: July 11, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
VentWorld Director
Picture of GaryMefford
posted Hide Post
pkaymars,