VentWorld
Learning about Ventilators in general.

This topic can be found at:
https://ventworld.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/2616042361/m/356102382

May 27, 2009, 08:08 PM
joel w.
Learning about Ventilators in general.
Greetings, I am a beginning biomedical engineering student that seeks some advice of those that know more than I do about the practice of using a ventilator.

I must make a presentation to my class about the set-up, operation, and maintenance of a typical respiratory ventilator with a bio-medical technician's focus.

While i do not expect anyone here to write my presentation for me, I would appreciate any links that anyone here could give to any information that could help.

I also admit my ignorance of this subject, (I guess that's what college is for, huh?) so far all of my knowledge about ventilators has come from a Google search. I would like to find real information, such as some of the publications listed on this web site (Only without the cost). I would like to cover in my presentation:
1)Types of ventilators
2)Typical ventilator settings (including fine tuning w/pulse oxymetry)
3)connections to patients(masks, tubes, etc.)
4)Service procedures (Troubleshooting, calibration, internal mechanism replacement)

Please post here if you can help, or contact my direct at honda_bot(at)yahoo(dot)com

Thanks in advance.
May 27, 2009, 08:30 PM
JonKaye
Dear Joel,

Welcome!

This might be somewhat basic, but here are some articles Frank Primiano and Rob Chatburn wrote several years ago on this topic:

What is a Ventilator?

Also take a look at Rob Chatburn's presentation on this page:

Featured Ventilator Articles
May 29, 2009, 12:36 AM
JeffWhitnack
Wow that is a tall order! Smile

1)Types of ventilators
In the past the neonatal ventilators were all separate. But today many Adult Ventilators also can be put into Pediatric or Neonatal Mode.

Adult
Neonatal
Adult/Neonatal/Ped
Homecare