VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    Percussionaire VDR-4
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Percussionaire VDR-4
 Login/Join

Picture of GJ,RRT
posted
I have read some postings with regards to this vent, which i have no experience in using. Is it a beneficial vent to have in your arsenal? Would you purchase one if you didn't currently have one? Is there any comparison to using an IPV with the CMV vent adaptors? I would like to hear about your thoughts and experiences? Also, Can an IPV with adaptors be used in conjunction with the Drager XL.

Chris Hanson RN, RRT-NPS, CPFT, AE-C
ER Registered Nurse
Grand Junction, Colorado

Posts: 66 | Location: Grand junction, colorado | Registered: August 21, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of light
posted Hide Post
GJ,
The vdr is a great vent to have in you bag. especially if you have a trauma and or burn center. The are wonderfull to recruit the atelectatic patient, secretion removal issue patient, and even pulmonary hypertension patient. They require alot of education on how the machine works as well as great understanding of effects of Raw and Cs on ventilation. This is one of my favorite vents to use on the right patients. I wish Iworked more often so that I could use it even more.

asfar as IPV with the XL, they work fine together. Best way is too turn flowmonitoring off, ATC off and change the patient to PCV+assist. You will then need to closely monitor patient while IPV is inline (about 20 min)Other possibilities is to get a IPV 2C that allows for CPAP to be added and then just attach the ETT or Trach to the tube itself.

Light

Posts: 104 | Location: Springfield, MO | Registered: March 08, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
GJ,
I'm not sure about the Drager, but not too long ago we used IPV in-line with the ServoI (PCV) on a patient with RUL Cocci pneumonia and it worked great.