VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    Draeger Babylog
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Draeger Babylog
 Login/Join

posted
Anyone out there work with the Babylog much? I am concerned with the amount of tube obstruction alarms. Any suggestions. On occassion the problem is evidently related to the child strutting against the device. On occassion the problem is related to water on the flow sensor. But it rings all the time for no apparent reason. HELP. haha. Seriously though any thoughts?

Posts: 45 | Registered: July 23, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of JeffWhitnack
posted Hide Post
I am not at work, but off for a few more days.

I am not a Babylog expert by any stretch. We have a Level 2 Nursery and use the Babylog, not super often at all though.

However I did draw up a lot of the competencies and training material.

There is some test procedure we have when we change circuits. I don't have it handy. When/if you do such a ritual does the Tube Obstruction alarm sound much? If it doesn't then it must be something involving either baby/circuit/mode interaction and/or water.

Could it be water in exh block or (if you use) exp filters?

Does this happen with a lot of patient types and modes? Or is there a typical scenario in which it occurs (or is worse?).

If you are using Volume Guarantee could it be that the patient wants more VT and therefore "struts" against the device?

Is your humidity too "active"? Water on the flow sensor shouldn't cause that particular alarm should it? Maybe interfere with volume measurement (and Pressure target in VG mode).

Posts: 171 | Location: Palo Alto, CA USA | Registered: November 14, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi Jeff:

Always glad to get a response from you.