VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    HOW IS YOUR JOB?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

HOW IS YOUR JOB?
 Login/Join

posted
Im an RRT at a 600 bed hospital. Just curious what everyone does at their hospital. We are assigned around 45-50 tx per 12 hour shift. We use pyxis to get medications.Still Chart on paper in ICU and ER(which is great). We intubate pts all the time. Our ER docs order tons of tx. ( We have 1 therapist in ER only, No other assignment). We have around 13-15 therapist on per shift. So how about everyone else?

Posts: 1 | Registered: February 18, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of nebpusher
posted Hide Post
My job is rediculously busy. Same situation as the first poster. Seems as if you can't really provide care because all you seem to do is go from treatment to treatment. I've been doing this for five years and I am a little jaded. Even in ICUs, the number of treatments . . . Respiratory Care is about so much more than nebulizers. . .

Breathe easy baby!

Posts: 5 | Registered: March 01, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of GJ,RRT
posted Hide Post
Nebpusher,

Contact me, within the next 18 month we will have one of the most progressive RT departments in the country.
You'll need to change from nebpusher to physician extender if you come work with us.

GJ

Chris Hanson RN, RRT-NPS, CPFT, AE-C
ER Registered Nurse
Grand Junction, Colorado

Posts: 66 | Location: Grand junction, colorado | Registered: August 21, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Excellent. Work exclusively in intensive care units. Very progressive RT department. Just as GJ mentioned, our dept is seen more as a physician extender, rather then a neb pusher.

Posts: 6 | Registered: November 13, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Bill C
posted Hide Post
Nebpusher,