VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    TTAV
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

TTAV
 Login/Join

Picture of GJ,RRT
posted
Has anyone used high flow scoop cath through a #6.0 portex trach on the hard to wean/co2 retainers/end stage copd's. I have lots of LTAC experience and i remember 1 patient that came to us from a well known center in Texas. They had tried to wean without success for nearly a month. They finally told the patient that he would probably be vent dependent, and he was being transferred to us since it was near his home. I admitted the patient and had his trach changed to a #9.0 portex for an inferior #8.0shiley trach within minutes. Had him weaning on a trach collar the next day, but noted his RR was higher than i wanted. Within the next couple of days transitioned to a #6.0 portex with TTAV(scoop cath at flows up to 12l directly above the carina). Noted a decrease in WOB, probably due to washout of anitomical deadspace. Within 2 weeks or so this gentleman was decannulated and on nasal O2. If you don't utilize portex, SCOOP caths, and TTAV and your an LTAC you are doing your patients a disservice. For more info on Trans Trach Caths google the "Transtracheal institute".

Chris Hanson RN, RRT-NPS, CPFT, AE-C
ER Registered Nurse
Grand Junction, Colorado

Posts: 66 | Location: Grand junction, colorado | Registered: August 21, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
VentWorld Director
Picture of GaryMefford
posted Hide Post
GJ,RRT,