VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    Questions for practicing RCP(s)
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Questions for practicing RCP(s)
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
Whitnack, You Rock!!!!!!!!!!!

Posts: 9 | Location: Cleveland, OH, USA | Registered: November 25, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<Alex>
posted
yes

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<RRT>
posted
While I was a practicing Registered Respiratory Therapist for many years, I am sorry to say that in my opinion nursing is the way to go. While it is true that you can have wonderful experiences in the field, if you are trying to get a mortgage or put your kids through college you will be hard pressed to accomplish these on an RTs salary. Additionally, why should you have to fight for respect. It is a reason that RNs make more money and have a great deal more flexibility and respect. Respiratory Therapy can be exciting, but excitement doe not pay the bills. Sorry but RN is the way to go.

<Jeff Whitnack>
posted
Our RT salary level, in comparison to where we started out, has probably risen per centage wise more than the RN's. Salaries for working RT's here are approaching (and exceeding) $40/hr now.

How ya like them apples?

If you're you're already an RT-- instead of going to nursing school, spend that time working overtime and invest the extra (gotta lose money going to school or do school and work anyway).

<Student RT>
posted