VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  Vent Users and Families    Need Vent facility in Ft Wayne, IN
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need Vent facility in Ft Wayne, IN
 Login/Join

posted
My mom has been at Select Hospital for 2 weeks now. On a vent for 4 after bypass surgery. I am not happy with Select at all. Does anyone have any experience with Select of any suggestions?

Posts: 1 | Registered: October 29, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
VentWorld Director
Picture of GaryMefford
posted Hide Post
I am an advocate for good Long Term Acute Hospitals. I have been on staff at several good ones. I have been a regional trainer for one of the largest LTAC comapnies out there and what I have seen is that each facility is totally different. Most of them are part of a large chain and the home office sets many of the parameters of operation and often hamstring the staff in the individual facilities, but I have seen cases where a motivated team of people can overcome the burdens of management that cause lapses in quality and provide good care. The management of these companies is at a loss as to why the lapses occur. They just see it as running a business and getting the most for shareholders. Health care facilities are not like any other business, lives are at stake. I try to say nothing negative about anyone here, but you may want to look into another LTACH for your mother. A competitor can not be stopped, if it is your wish, from coming in and evaluating your mom. You can ask at other LTACs if there are any. Otherwise keep someone present as much as possible who is an independent advocate for you mom and insist on reports of progress daily. You should be able to request a family meeting and meet with the doc nurses and therapists and get updated on her progress. I have encountered recently LTAC hospitals that staff their RT department based on the number of ventilators running in the building, not the number of procedures (best) or even the