VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    Which is your favourite ventilator?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which is your favourite ventilator?
 Login/Join

<brandx>
posted
I agree, MaquetSmile did come up with those things, but unforunately the competition perfected them. The Maquet technology is antiquated. And reading your comments I can only assume you still take a horse and buggy to work.....keep smilingSmile

Marcus

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<smd44>
posted
Wow, Brandx, antiquated? which ventilator company do you work for?

<brandx>
posted
Noooooooooooooo......this is just my opinion that all. I am a fellow therapist just like you...or do you work for Maquet? Smile

Marcus

<smd44>
posted
no, I am an RT also. I work in a big hospital in NY. We use a few types of vents and i personally love the 300 and the servo i. Its ok to not like them but i would hardly say they are antiquated.

Picture of JeffWhitnack
posted Hide Post
I'm also an RT. To stir the pot I'll ask both the Servo and Evita advocates a couple questions.

How can you like the Servo 300A when it's PS flow termination is fixed at 5%? There was an article in the Respiratory Care Journal showing how that can needlessly increase air trapping and dyspnea. Curious that they designed it that way after the PB 7200 was being slammed and criticized for having it's flow termination criteria be an absolute 5L/M (patient on Servo 300 would have to have a spontaneous flow of 100L/M to get the same PS termination criteria!).

For the Evita advocates....tell me the advantages of having the Autoflow (PRVC or VC+ PC/VC hybrid) adjust the PC Pi level based on the amount of measured volume returning to the circuit. VC+ on 840 and PRVC on Servo base their subsequent Pi levels on the measured volume leaving the ventilator. What if the patient has a big chest tube leak?

I haven't used the Servo-i and from what I understand it's solved my objections.