VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    Thoughts on PAV?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Thoughts on PAV?
 Login/Join

posted
Recently we have upgraded our fleet of PB840 ventilators to include this mode of ventilation.

Has anyone out there had much experience with PAV?

I want to restrict my thoughts at this time except to say that I have had it on about 4 patients. I am far from an expert but do believe this to be a valuable mode of ventilation. Having had multiple opportunities to use PAV on the Respironics Vision as a NonInvasive mode, the 840 seems to take PAV lightyears beyond. It seemed that with the Vision one would have to rely heavily on patient feedback to make an educated guess as to where to set the Volume and Flow assist. With the 840 the guesswork is gone. The processor computes a Cpav and Rpav using formulas far beyond my scope of thought and a .3millisec breathhold over 4 breaths or so to actually calculate the volume and flow assist. From there it is only a matter of weaning the % of PAV to maintain the patient until extubation. This is made feasable by a WOB line which displays WOBtot and the WOB patient. It is a useful tool in determining where to set the % PAV to ensure the patient is either resting or working as required.

Having already seen PAV in action with the Vision, despite the guesswork in determining a level for volume and flow assist, the patients Compliance and Resistance were seemingly better accounted for than with BiPAP. PAV on the Vision seems to me like a fine tuning for IPAP considering how the pressure will be delived to account for compliance and resistance. With the 840 the added benefit is the guesswork is not only gone but it is monitored and adjusted on an ongoing basis.

Posts: 45 | Registered: July 23, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<brandx>
posted
Is that what you call restricting your thoughts? Wink I personally like PPS

Reply With QuoteReport This Post