VentWorld    VentWorld    ventworld.infopop.cc  Hop To Forum Categories  RC Professionals    Want we will buy, we will teach.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Want we will buy, we will teach.
 Login/Join

Picture of Renton
posted
There seems to be a lot of people on this site that know a lot about ventilators on this site. Good! I would like your taughts on this note:

I am a teacher at Collège de Rosemont, Montréal, Canada. I teach what we call ventilatory support (the use of ventilators) to future RRTs. I intend to buy a new ventilator in the next year, and all the sales rep make a very good case. But, when I saw the different posts on this site, I knew I could have a more "objective" , or at lease different view on the subject.

We currently have the following vents: Drager Evita 4, PB 840, PB 7200, Siemens Servo 300-A, Pulmonetics LTV-1000, Drager Babylog 8000+, Sechirst, Bear-33 (the last 2 are used only during the first of the 3 years curriculum, we feel that they are easier to understand at first). We also have 2 non-invasive devices: Vision and ST-D 30 from Respironics.

Personnaly, I think that we do not have the technology that will be used shortly, and that we might "lag" behind. HFOV is now widly used both in neonatate and adult university intensive care, so it might be a good vent to buy (Sensormedic 3100-B). Then again, the use on a plastic lung is not to realistic, and I fear that my students will not fully understand until they actually see it on a real patient.

So, how about getting ready for the 5TH generation of vents. Siemens Servo i looks great. The open lung tool could provide to be usefull for teaching, and I heard that they might include the oesophagal balloon soon. But, we bougth a few years ago a 300-A, and they just told us that they wont produce replacement pieces in a few years, meaning that no hospital will continue using 300-A. So, we wont be teaching it soon. A waste of the tax payers money...